Burnt Clay Bricks

Burnt Clay Bricks

Burnt clay building bricks are broadly classified into two categories. They are

  1. Common Burnt Clay Building Bricks: As the name suggests, they refer to the class of bricks used for common housing and construction purposes where structural strength requirement is less compared to heavy duty burnt clay building bricks.
  2. Heavy Duty Burnt Clay Building Bricks: They are also known as “engineering bricks” due to the fact that these are widely used in heavy masonry and structural applications like bridges, structures, industrial foundations and multi-storied buildings.

However based on the manufacturing technique, clay bricks can be again classified into two which are

  • Country Bricks: Country bricks are the most basic type of clay brick that is molded by hand and is kiln dried. It is labor intensive type and the quality of the bricks may have variation subject to various factors.
  • Wire cut Bricks: As the name suggests, wire cut bricks involve cutting or slicing blocks in the brick dimensions from the bulk clay mold using a wire tool. Due to cutting by pushing wires through the clay, compressive stresses are set up in the bricks creating small minute cracks. Contrary to the common belief, it actually increases the strength of the brick as moisture and others gases have easy passage out during baking. This reduces distortion as well as allows proper bonding between the particles to give better strength and much more finished appearance.

Technical Data Sheet

Sl No Parameter Specification Values
1 Brick Dimension (mm) Heavy Duty Standard 190*90*90  &  190*90*40
Common Use Standard Modular 190*90*90  &  190*90*40

Non Modular

230*110*70 & 230*70*30
Non Standard

Non Modular

2 Average Compressive Strength (MPa) Heavy Duty ³ 40
Common Use 3.5 – 35
3 Water Absorption Heavy Duty 10
Common Use 15 -20
4 Efflorescence Test Heavy Duty Nil
Common Use Slight – Moderate
5 Density  
6 Color Pattern Uniform
7 Workmanship & Surface Finish Manual & Highest
8 Standards Followed Bureau of Indian Standards IS 2180-1988, IS 1077-1992,

IS 3495-1992




Leave a Reply